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Safe driving is the responsibility of all individuals who operate a vehicle on New 
Jersey roads. The rules of the road must be obeyed at all times and laws must 
be strictly followed. A motorist must ensure the safety of all passengers who are 
riding in his/her vehicle and be mindful of the other motorists who share the road 
each day.

Buckle Up – New Jersey’s Seat Belt Law
The New Jersey seat belt law requires all front-seat occupants of passenger 
vehicles operated in New Jersey to wear a seat belt. The motorist is responsible 
for all passengers under 18 years of age. Front-seat passengers 18 years of 
age and over are responsible for themselves. Motorists with GDL permits or 
probationary licenses must use seat belts. Additionally, they must require all 
passengers seated anywhere in the vehicle to use seat belts. (N.J.S.A. 39:3-76.2f, 	
39:3-13.2a, 39:3-13.4)

New Jersey’s seat belt law requires the motorist, front-seat passenger and 
children under 18 years old to be belted (N.J.S.A. 39:3-76.2f). Non-compliance 
is a primary offense. A police officer can stop a motorist solely for a violation of 
the seat belt law. The law also expands the definition of passenger vehicle to 
include vans, pickup trucks and utility vehicles. Under a secondary law, all back 
seat occupants, 18 years of age and older, are required to buckle up. Unbuckled 
back seat passengers can be issued a summons when the vehicle they are 
riding in is stopped for another violation.

The exemptions are any passenger vehicle manufactured before July 1, 1966, 
a passenger vehicle that is not required to be equipped with seat belt systems 
under federal law and a physical or medical reason, verified in writing by a 
licensed physician, that makes the motorist or passenger unable to wear a seat 
belt. (N.J.S.A. 39:3-76.2g)

Seat belts can save a life and improve a motorist’s chances of surviving a 
crash by 60 percent. A motorist’s chances of surviving a collision are three to 
four times better if he/she is wearing both a seat belt and a shoulder strap. 
Fastening a seat belt takes only three seconds and reduces the chances of 
death or serious injury. Seat belts help in many ways, for example:

•	They keep motorists and passengers from being thrown from the vehicle in a 
collision. If a motorist/passenger is held in place, any injury may be less severe.

•	They slow a body down with the vehicle. If a vehicle hits something, the 
vehicle stops, but the person keeps going at the same speed that the 	
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vehicle was moving. Hitting the dashboard or windshield at 30 mph is 	
like falling from the top of a three-story building.

•	They keep a motorist/passenger from sliding on the seat during sudden 

stops and turns. Belts and straps also keep a motorist in position so 
he/she can control the vehicle.

Tips for Seat Belt Use
•	 Buckle up with both lap and shoulder belts on every trip. (Air bags are

supplemental protection devices.)

•	 Wear the lap belt under the abdomen and low across the hips. The
shoulder portion should come over the collar bone, away from the neck, 	
and cross over the breast bone. The shoulder belt in most new vehicles can 
be adjusted on the side pillar to improve fit.

•	 Know how to adjust the seat belts and how to release them if motorists/
passengers have to quickly get out of the vehicle.

•	 Buckle up if riding in the backseat; use center seat belts if those seats are
used. Seat belts help prevent riders from falling forward.

•	 Never put more than one person in one belt.

Car Seats
Traffic accidents are a leading killer of children. When riding in a vehicle, children 
should be held in place by a restraint system that meets all Federal Motor Vehicle 
Safety Standards. Refer to the paragraph on Child Restraint Law.

All child restraint systems built since January 1, 1981, must be designed to pass 
tough safety tests. These seats carry a label that gives the date of manufacture 
and reads: “This child restraint system conforms to all applicable Federal Motor 
Vehicle Safety Standards.”

There are many types and styles of car seats. An infant car seat will protect a 
baby up to 20 pounds and 26 inches and must be placed in the vehicle facing 
the rear. A convertible car seat is a larger seat that can be used for an infant or a 
toddler of up to 40 pounds and 40 inches in height. The seat can be adjusted to 
a reclining position and placed in the vehicle facing backwards for a baby. When 
the baby weighs at least 17 pounds and can sit up well without help, the seat can 
be adjusted to an upright position and placed in the vehicle facing forward.



Note: It is preferred that whenever possible, child car safety seats be placed in 
the backseat. However, if a motorist is riding with a new infant and the vehicle 
does not have a backseat, move the front seat as far back as possible from 
the dashboard and make sure the child is buckled properly in the appropriate 
restraint for his/her height and weight. Never place rear-facing infant safety 
seats in the front seat of a vehicle with a front passenger-side air bag.

While a convertible seat is designed to be used facing forward once a child has 
reached at least 17 pounds, an infant seat must never be faced forward. To do 
so would be very dangerous. Always check the label on a car seat to find out the 
size and weight of the child the seat is designed to protect.

Using the car seat every time a child rides in the vehicle - and using it correctly 
each time - is very important for the safety of the child. Always read the 
instructions that come with the seat and follow them very carefully. Correct 
use of the car seat is the best protection a motorist can offer a child. For more 
information on child car seats, contact the Division of Highway Traffic Safety at 
(800) 422-3750 or visit www.njsaferoads.com.

Child Restraint Law
The New Jersey child passenger safety law (N.J.S.A 39:3-76.2a) states:

•	 Children up to age eight or a weight of 80 pounds must ride in a federally
approved safety or booster seat in the rear seat of the vehicle. If there 
is no rear seat, the child must sit in the front seat secured by a safety or 	
booster seat.

•	 Children under age eight and over 80 pounds must be in a rear seat and 
use a seat belt. If there is no rear seat, the child must be properly belted in 
the front seat.

•	 Failure to comply with this law could mean a $54 fine and court costs.

Air Bags
Air bags are standard equipment in almost all new vehicles and are designed 
to supplement seat belts in frontal crashes. Federal safety standards required 
that manufacturers equip all new passenger cars and light trucks with air bags 
by 1999. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 
statistics show that between 1986 and 2000, front air bags saved the lives of 
5,303 front- seat riders. 
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Air bags inflate at speeds of up to 200 mph to protect adults in a front-end 
collision. An average-sized adult who is correctly belted is not likely to come in 
contact with the air bag until it is fully inflated. 

When air bags are combined with lap/shoulder seat belts, they have saved many 
adult lives and prevented many injuries in motor vehicle crashes. However, air 
bags could seriously injure or kill children who are sitting in the front seat. 

In 1995, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) allowed 
cutoff switches in pickup trucks, sports cars and autos with no backseat. In Jan-
uary 1998, it allowed repair shops and dealers to install the switches in vehicles 
after the appropriate application was made for people in these categories:

•	 Driver-and passenger-side air bags: For individuals with medical 
conditions when the risks of a deploying air bag exceed the risks of impacting the 
steering wheel, dashboard or windshield.

•	 Driver-side air bags only: For individuals who cannot properly operate

the vehicle and keep at least 10 inches between the center of the steering 
wheel and the center of the breastbone.

•	 Passenger-side air bags only: For individuals who must place infants in
the front seat because the vehicle has no rear seat (e.g., a pickup truck) or 
the rear seat is too small to hold the child’s rear-facing seat, or the motorist 
must monitor the child’s medical condition; for individuals who must place 
children, 1 to 12 years old, in the front seat because the vehicle has no rear 
seat, or because the individual must transport more children than can be 
seated in the rear seat, or because the motorist must monitor the child’s 
medical condition.

For more information about an air bag on-off switch or for an application to 
request one, call NHTSA’s toll-free Auto Safety Hotline at (800) 424-9393. 
Information is also available online at www.nhtsa.gov.

Children of any age are safest when they are belted properly in the backseat of 
a vehicle, especially when the vehicle is equipped with a passenger-side air bag. 
Other safety points are:

•	 Always put an infant in a rear-facing infant child safety seat in the back
seat of a vehicle with air bags.

•	 Always be sure that children 12 years old and younger ride in the backseat
of the vehicle.

•	 Always make sure everyone is buckled up.



A motorist can tell if his/her vehicle has an air bag by the words “air bag” 
or the letters “SRS” (supplemental restraint system) or “SIR” (supplemental 
inflatable restraint) on the steering wheel and dashboard panel. Manufacturers 
also may mark the sun visors or the sides of the open door frame with warning 
labels or enter a warning in the vehicle owner’s manual.

Car Condition
A motorist should always check the condition of the vehicle before driving it. 
If the items below are not working properly, it means the vehicle needs to be 
repaired.

BACKUP LIGHTS
When driving in reverse, backup lights should be on. These must be checked to 
make sure they are in working order.

Note: It is against New Jersey law (N.J.S.A 39:3-52) to have any backup lights 
on while a vehicle is moving forward.

BRAKES
A motorist should be able to brake smoothly and quickly. If the vehicle pulls 
to one side when it stops or a motorist feels a taut pedal or hears an unusual 
squealing or grinding, the brakes must be checked. With conventional disc and 
drum brakes, a motorist should pump them gently after driving through water 
to test them and dry them out. If the brakes are hit hard, they could lock up. A 
motorist should be able to stop within 25 feet at 20 mph. This can be tried in an 
empty parking lot. Chalk marks can be made on the surface to see if the vehicle 
can stop within that distance.

If a vehicle has an antilock braking system (ABS), the brakes can be tested by 
applying steady pressure to the brake pedal. A motorist should never pump an 
ABS or jerk the steering wheel when braking. On very soft surfaces, such as 
loose gravel or unpacked snow, an ABS system may actually lengthen stopping 
distance. In wet or slippery conditions, a motorist should still drive carefully, 
always keep a safe distance from the vehicle in front and maintain a speed 
consistent with the road conditions.

BRAKE LIGHTS
If a vehicle’s brake lights are not working, someone may crash into it from the 
back. A motorist should have someone help to check the brake lights. Replace 
broken light covers. They may cause a glare that affects the motorist in back.
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HEADLIGHTS
Bright and dim lights must work and be in line. A motorist can check them 
against the garage wall or on parked vehicles. Lights should be kept clean. If 
other motorists flash their lights while a motorist’s lights are on low beam, it 
could mean that the lights are out of line.

HORN
A horn should not be overused, but a motorist should check it often to make 
sure it works. Use the horn to signal when passing or when coming out of a blind 
alley, curve or driveway.

STEERING
On straight level roads a vehicle should hold a straight course. The front end 
should not vibrate (shimmy). The steering should respond to a motorist’s turns 
without too much play in the steering wheel.

TAIL LIGHTS
Always keep tail and side lights in working order. They signal other motorists in 
the dark and prevent accidents.

Tires
If a motorist feels or hears any unusual thumping while driving, he/she should 
check the tires. Bumps, cuts or bad tread can cause blowouts. Tire pressure 
should be checked often, especially when tires are cold. A motorist should check 
the owner’s manual to determine proper tire pressure or should ask for advice 
at a service station. Properly inflated tires save money in fuel consumption. A 
vehicle should not be driven with tires that have less than 1/16 inch of tread 
(about the edge of a dime). To hold on to the road properly, tires must match (do 
not mix radials with other tire types) and must have enough tread. 

turn Signals
A motorist should be able to hear the clicking and see the lighted arrows flash 
on the dashboard. If they do not work, the signals must be fixed as soon as 
possible. Meanwhile, a motorist should use hand signals.

windshield
Cracks or chips in a windshield could cause it to break; it should be replaced. 	
A windshield should be clean at all times, inside and out. Windshield wipers 
should always work. If they come with washers, a motorist can use non-freezing 
spray to stop icing. New Jersey laws prohibit add-on tinting on windshields and front 	
side windows.



snow/ice 
State law (N.J.S.A 39:4-77.1) requires a motorist to remove snow or ice from 
a vehicle before driving it. If snow or ice dislodges from a moving vehicle, it 
could strike another vehicle or pedestrian, causing injury or property damage. 	
A motorist is required to make all reasonable efforts to remove accumulated ice 
or snow from the exposed surfaces of his or her motor vehicle prior to driving 
it, including the hood, trunk, roof and windshield. Any person who violates this 
law is subject to fines of $25 to $75, regardless of whether any snow or ice is 
dislodged from vehicle.

Starting a Parked Car
Before getting into a vehicle, look behind it and in front of it. There are blind 
spots once a motorist is behind the wheel. Children may be there. There also 
may be bottles, cans, bicycles or other things that cannot be seen from the 	
motorist’s seat.

Starting Checklist
•	 All windows should be clean and nothing should block a motorist’s vision.

•	 The seat must be adjusted so a motorist can reach all pedals and controls
easily. (For most motorists, the seat may be adjusted so he/she is sitting 
an arm’s length from steering wheel).

•	 Inside and outside rearview mirrors should be adjusted.

•	 Seat belts and shoulder harnesses should be fastened so that they are
firm and comfortable.

•	 The vehicle should be in park or neutral gear and the parking brake
should be set.

•	 Doors should be locked.

A motorist should keep good posture while driving. The seat should be adjusted 
so that the motorist can reach the foot pedals easily. The motorist should be 
comfortable behind the wheel. He/she should not have to strain to reach the 
gear shift levers, turn signals or dashboard controls. A motorist is properly 
positioned when he/she can see clearly and can glance to the rear.

If a motorist wears glasses, he/she should adjust them. More than 95 percent 
of the information a motorist needs is visual. To fight glare at night, colored 
lenses should be avoided as they distort color. Anti-reflective coatings should 
be used on lenses. This will help eliminate internal reflections in eyeglasses 
and may help night driving. A motorist should have an eye checkup every two 
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years. As a motorist ages, visual clarity declines and peripheral vision becomes 
less distinct. For example, a 60-year-old perceives light about a third as well as a 	
20-year-old. 

Inside and outside mirrors should be adjusted to reduce blind spots. These are 
areas where a motorist cannot see behind his/her vehicle (on both sides) through 
the mirror. A motorist can check this by turning his/her head. The outside mirror 
should be adjusted so that the motorist can see the tip of the driver-side front 
door handle in the lower right of the mirror. This will allow the motorist to see part 
of the lanes of traffic to the left and rear of the vehicle.

After starting the engine, a motorist should make sure his/her path is clear by 
turning and looking back. A motorist should not depend on rearview mirrors. 
A motorist must also be sure to check for pedestrians and less conspicuous 
vehicles, such as bicycles and mopeds. A motorist should give the proper signal 
and drive with caution. 

The illustration below shows blind spots while driving.



Steering

BDMN_steering_110907
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When on the road, a motorist can check the vehicle’s mirrors by letting a vehicle 
pass on the left. As the passing vehicle disappears from the inside rearview mirror, 
a motorist should be able to see its front bumper in the outside rearview mirror.

idling your vehicle
New Jersey law requires all motorists to restrict vehicle idling to three minutes 
or less (N.J.A.C. 7:27).

Idling more than three minutes is unnecessary and harmful to  your vehicle and 
your health. Vehicle and property owners face fines of $250 to $1,000 for each 
violation of this law.

There are some specific situations in which a vehicle may idle for an extended 
time, such as when stuck in traffic, or at drive-thru establishments. See www.
StopTheSoot.org for a complete listing of exemptions.

So don’t forget: Idling Stinks, and it’s against the law--turn the key and be idle 
free!

Steering

Hand Position
A motorist’s grip on the steering wheel is important. The steering wheel can be 
thought of as the face of a clock. For normal driving, a motorist should grip the 
steering wheel by the outside rim at the 9 and 3 o’clock positions, keeping his/
her thumb along the face of the wheel. Gripping the steering wheel as described 
diminishes the risk of hand, wrist or arm injury if the air bag is deployed. A 
motorist should never turn the wheel while gripping it from the inside of the rim, 
hand facing inward. The steering wheel should be held firmly but not too tight, 
as steady as possible as the vehicle’s speed increases. Both hands should be 
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kept on the wheel at all times, except when shifting gears or giving hand signals. 

The motorist should keep the vehicle in the center of the lane that it is traveling. 
On a two-lane road with traffic coming toward the vehicle, the motorist should 
keep to the right. Once a motorist feels how the vehicle reacts to steering, he/
she will be ready to practice turning, parking and other movements. 

It takes practice to get the feel of steering. If the vehicle has antilock brakes 
(ABS), the motorist should never violently jerk the steering wheel while braking. 
(See page 42, “Brakes”)

Hand-Over-Hand Steering
Hand-over-hand steering permits a motorist to make steering adjustments ranging 
from very minor up to a half turn of the wheel, while keeping both hands on the 
wheel. If turning through a slight curve, both hands will typically retain their original 
grip on the wheel, making only slight finger or wrist adjustments as necessary to 
maintain the path of travel. However, when moving through a turn, the hands may 
move as much as 165 degrees. The motorist initiates the turn by pushing the 
wheel up from the 9 or 3 o’clock position toward 12 o’clock, and the opposite hand 
crosses over and down to the 9 or 3 o’clock position, as appropriate to provide 
additional input or to stabilize steering. The original hand then returns to the original 
start position of 9 or 3 o’clock. The process is reversed to return to a straight path, 
or the wheel can be allowed to slip through the fingers (controlled slipping) to 
straighten when coming out of a turn, while both hands are always on the wheel 
to make adjustments as necessary. Hand-over-hand steering is particularly well-
suited for precision maneuvers, steering through curves, intersection entry and 
exit, and skid recovery.

Stopping Distances
There is no simple way to tell exactly how long it will take a vehicle to stop at a 
certain speed. Stopping distance depends on:

•	 Motorist reaction time

•	 Weather and road conditions

•	 Vehicle weight

•	 Brake conditions

•	 Condition and type of tires

•	 Roadway conditions 

•	 Speed



One point is sure: The faster a vehicle is going, the longer it will take it to stop. 
When a motorist must stop quickly, speed can be the difference between life 
and death.

Stopping distances on dry surfaces for passengers

Proper Braking
The use of brakes may seem simple, but it is not. A motorist should know the 
type of braking system that his/her vehicle uses. It could be a conventional drum 
and disc brake system or an antilock braking system (ABS). Whether the vehicle 
is front- or rear-wheel drive does not determine proper braking.

Many new motorists make the common mistake of slamming the brake pedal, 
even if there is no emergency. The vehicle will jerk to a stop quickly and wear 
out brakes and tires. Steady, gentle pressure should be applied to the brake to 
bring the vehicle to a controlled stop. With an ABS, a motorist should not pump 
the brakes or violently jerk the wheel. An ABS-equipped vehicle may go out of 
control at only 35 mph if a motorist violently jerks the steering wheel and brake, 
even on dry pavement. New motorists should practice hard braking and steering 
in an empty parking lot or similar open space until they are accustomed to the 
ABS. A motorist should always use his/her right foot for both the brake and the 
gas pedal. If the vehicle is equipped with a manual transmission, the left foot 
should be used for the clutch.

Speed Reaction distance Braking distance Total

10 mph 11 ft 6 ft 17 ft

20 mph 22 ft 25 ft 47 ft

30 mph 33 ft 55 ft 88 ft

40 mph 44 ft 105 ft 149 ft

50 mph 55 ft 188 ft 243 ft

60 mph 66 ft 300 ft 366 ft

70 mph 77 ft 455 ft 532 ft

Based on a reaction time of 3/4 second, which is typical for most motorists under most 
traffic conditions. See p. 71 for more information on stopping, p. 86 for information 
about following distances and p. 90 for information about stopping at night.
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Driver Signals

BDMN_driver_signals_110907

STOP

RIGHT TURN

LEFT TURN

Driving Signals
A motorist should always give a proper signal when 
turning, changing lanes, stopping or slowing down. Most 
vehicles have turn signals and a motorist should always 
use them. A motorist should turn on the turn signal at 
least 100 feet before turning and be sure to cancel the 
signal after making a turn. Not doing so could mislead 
other motorists. (N.J.S.A. 39:4-126)

New Jersey law requires a motorist to know the correct 
hand signals for stopping and turning, which are standard 
in all states. To give a hand signal, a motorist should put 
his/her arm well out of the vehicle so that it is visible to 
other motorists.

•	 Stop or slowing down: hand and arm downward,
palm facing to the rear

•	 Right turn: hand and arm upward

•	 Left turn: hand and arm straight out

Another signal is the horn, which is a warning signal. It 
calls attention to what the motorist is doing. Motorists 
may sound the horn when passing another vehicle when 
not in a business or residential zone. Under normal 
conditions, the horn should be able to be heard for at 
least 200 feet. (N.J.S.A. 39:3-69) Only emergency 
vehicles may use sirens, whistles or bells. 

Driving in Reverse
Before driving in reverse, a motorist must be sure that the path is clear. This can 
be done by using the mirrors and turning to check. He/she must be very careful 
because the view to the rear is limited. In reverse, turning the wheel to the right 
will direct the vehicle to the right. Steering to the left will direct the vehicle to the 
left. If a motorist does not turn the wheel while in reverse, the vehicle will move 
straight backward. 

To drive in reverse, a motorist’s head and body should be turned to the right until 
he/she can see clearly through the back window of the vehicle without the use 	
of mirrors. The motorist’s right hand and arm should be placed over the back of the 
front passenger seat; the left hand should grasp the top of the steering wheel. 



This is the position a motorist should be in to reverse in a straight line, with sight 
seeing correction made as needed. A vehicle should be driven slowly in reverse 
– typically, walking speed (2 to 4 mph). The motorist should not turn forward 
until the vehicle is totally stopped. 

If a motorist must turn the wheel while reversing other than in a straight line (e.g. 
parallel parking), two hands must be on the wheel to steer, while a motorist’s 
head and body is turned to look out the rear window. Palming the wheel with 
one hand while turning in reverse is dangerous and can result in failing the road 
test. A motorist should always remember that the front of the vehicle will swing 
in the opposite direction of a turn. A vehicle should be driven slowly in reverse.

A motorist must be able to drive in reverse in order to pass the road portion of 
the driving test. He/she will be asked to back the vehicle about 100 feet in a 
straight line, slowly and smoothly.

Turning 
To make safe turns, a motorist should decide well in advance where he/she 
wants to turn. Last-minute turns can be unsafe. State law requires a motorist to 
get in the proper lane and signal at least 100 feet before making any turn. The 
faster the traffic is moving, the sooner a motorist should plan his/her turn. If a 
turn is missed, a motorist should never back up. It is better to take the next turn 
than to risk a collision. Before turning, a motorist should always:

•	 Use the mirrors to look behind and to both sides for other vehicles 
(or people) to see if it is safe to turn

•	 Check for less visible vehicles, such as motorcycles, bicycles and mopeds

•	 Signal first (use turn signals or hand signals) and then move into the
proper lane.

•	 Slow down before reaching an intersection

•	 Keep a steady speed and follow pavement markings

•	 Always stay in the same lane until the turn is finished

•	 Make sure turn signal is turned off after the turn is completed
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3 Point Turn

BDMN_3pt_turn_110907
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The 3-Point Turn (K Turn)
When turning a vehicle around, a motorist should start from the right edge of 
the road. Choose a safe spot with good visibility in both directions. If there is 
no other traffic, the motorist should signal left and move forward slowly while 
turning the steering wheel to the left. The vehicle should be stopped several 
inches from the left curb or street edge. The motorist should then signal right 
and back slowly while turning the steering wheel to the right, stopping several 
inches from the right curb or street edge. The motorist should next move the 
vehicle forward, signaling left, while turning the steering wheel to the left. 
Finally, the motorist should straighten the vehicle’s wheels as it faces in the 
direction he/she wants to go. This is a complete 3-Point (or K) Turn. A new 
motorist will be required to make this turn during MVC’s road test.

Parking
When parking, a motorist should always set the hand brake and put the vehicle 
in park or, with a manual transmission, in reverse or low gear. There are several 
important steps for a motorist to follow when parking his/her vehicle on a street 
with a curb:

•	 When parking a vehicle facing downhill: The hand brake should be
set and the vehicle’s wheels should be turned toward the curb. The vehicle 
should be in park or, with a manual transmission, in reverse.

•	 When parking a vehicle facing uphill: The hand brake should be set

and the vehicle’s wheels should be turned away from the curb. The vehicle 
should be in park or, with a manual transmission, in low.



Angle Parking
Angle parking is often used in parking lots of shopping centers and sometimes 
at curbs.

A motorist should follow these rules when entering an angle parking space to 
his/her right:

•	 Watch for traffic both ahead and behind.

•	 Signal and begin to slow down.

•	 Make sure the rear of the vehicle will clear the parked vehicles.

•	 Steer sharply into the parking space, and then straighten the wheels
centering the vehicle in the parking space.

•	 Shift to park, or reverse if standard transmission, and apply the parking brake.

A motorist should follow these rules before backing out of an angle parking space:
•	 Walk around to make sure nothing is in the vehicle’s way.

•	 Slowly move the vehicle in reverse and be sure that the lane is clear of traffic.

•	 Tap the horn to warn nearby pedestrians.

•	 When able to see past the tops of vehicles parked next to the vehicle,
stop and look again.

•	 Look back and to each side for other motorists.

•	 Remember that the front of the vehicle will swing opposite to the
direction of the turn.

•	 Back up slowly while turning until the vehicle’s left front wheel passes
the rear bumper of the vehicle parked on the left.

•	 Straighten the wheels as the vehicle comes back into the lane of traffic.

Parallel Parking
Parallel parking is the most common type of parking on city streets. A motorist 
must be able to parallel park a vehicle in order to pass the MVC’s road test. This 
takes the most practice for a new motorist. A motorist should practice often, in 
an empty parking lot at first. Flags or markers 25 feet apart may be used to show 
where the other vehicles would be. If a motorist hits these signs, he/she is not 
ready for parking between real vehicles and should keep practicing. The slower 
and smoother a motorist backs into a parking space, the easier it is to park. To 
properly parallel park, a motorist should:

•	 Find a parking space that is large enough to fit the vehicle. 

•	 Signal for a stop and signal to the right to alert motorists that the vehicle
will back up to the right.
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Parallel Parking
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•	 Pull up alongside (parallel) about two to four feet from the vehicle in front.

•	 Turn and check to see that the way is clear behind the vehicle before
backing up.

•	 Turn his/her body to look out the rear window of the vehicle. Begin backing
up slowly for about two feet and turn the steering wheel all the way to the right.

•	 When the front of the vehicle has cleared the rear bumper of the vehicle in
front, stop and check the angle.

•	 Make sure the right back wheel has not hit the curb.

•	 Turn the steering wheel all the way to the left while beginning to back up slowly.

•	 Make sure the vehicle can clear its back bumper.

•	 When the vehicle is in line, stop. Be sure not to hit the vehicle in back.

•	 Turn the vehicle’s wheels straight, and drive to the center of the parking
	 space. The vehicle’s tires should be no more than six inches from the curb.
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