
 
 

An Important Message About Lead Poisoning  
From Your Child’s School 

 

 
Place contact

 
 
 
Why is New Jersey concerned about lead poisoning? 
New Jersey has some of the oldest homes in the United States.  
One in three homes was built before 1978.  Lead-based paint was   
banned in 1978.  Old homes means old paint.  Old paint that  
is chipping and peeling is a source of lead exposure. Also, dust  
created when renovating or remodeling.  
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Some lead poisoned children may need in-classroom supports (for exam
distractions) or special education services. 
 
 
 
 
Why should parents be concerned about lead poisoning? 
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)  
defines lead poisoning as a blood lead level of 10 ug/dL  
(micrograms per deciliter) or more.   However, research  
has shown that even at lower blood lead levels, lead can  
affect your child’s ability to learn.    
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What can school personnel and parents do? 
 
L:   

• Learn more about lead poisoning.  
o Know that very young children are growing quickly and lead affects their developing brains. 
o Lead poisoning’s effects are permanent and may not show up until children are school-aged.  

 
E:   

• Establish communication between teachers and parents to assure that children affected by lead receive 
in-classroom supports and, if needed, special education services.  

• Educate all children to always wash their hands before eating and after playing outside to reduce  
exposure to lead dust that can be found in older homes and schools.  

• Ensure that all contractors and school maintenance workers use lead-safe work practices when 
renovating or remodeling homes and schools.  

 
A:    

• Advocate for children affected by lead by arranging diagnostic evaluations by private practitioners  
(for example, pediatric neurologist) or through the school-based Child Study Team at critical points in 
affected children’s development.   

o First Grade:  Children begin to learn basic skills such as reading words and performing math. 
o Fourth Grade:  Classroom emphasis shifts from learning basic skills to learning new material. 
o Seventh Grade:  Students are expected to use higher-order planning and organizational skills to 

complete long-term projects.  
• Assessment should be done by the preschool and elementary grades’ school nurses on all incoming 

children’s medical records to identify previous lead test results or for a history of lead poisoning.  
• Assure that children are tested at the correct ages.  A blood lead test is the only way to know a child has 

lead poisoning. 
o New Jersey law requires that all children be tested at ages 1 and 2 years.  
o Children 3 to 6 years should be tested if they have never had a blood lead test.   
o Parents should take their children to their healthcare provider to get a blood lead test.  
o Free or low-cost testing is available from local health departments or Federally Qualified Health 

Centers for children with no insurance or whose insurance does not cover blood lead testing.   
D:  

• Determine if children are offered healthy foods with calcium and iron at meals and snack times.  These 
foods help the body get rid of lead.  These foods include low-fat milk and yogurt, lean meats, beans, and 
fortified juices and cereals.   

• Developmental assessments should be ongoing for  lead poisoned children.   
 

To learn more about childhood lead poisoning prevention contact: 
 

New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services 
call:  609-292-5666 

 
or visit these websites 

HTUwww.state.nj.us/health/fhs/newborn/lead.shtmlUTH. 
HTUwww.leadsafenj.orgUTH 
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