State of New Jersey

DepaARTMENT OF COMMUNITY AFFAIRS NEW
JERSEY BOARD OF RECREATION EXAMINERS
101 SouTH BROAD STREET
PO Box 811
TrRenTON NJ 08625-0811
(609) 984-6654

NEW JERSEY BOARD OF RECREATION EXAMINERS

The New Jersey Board of Recreation Examiners was established by Chapter 291, of
Public Laws of 1966 to administer a permissive certification program to Recreation
Administrators and Recreation Supervisors. Over 1,400 people have been certified in the
past 36 years. The legislation was created in order to safeguard and promote the
emotional, social, physical and intellectual growth of the people of the State of New
Jersey through recreation services. It also protects individuals within the state who
receive recreation services by identifying to them, those persons who meet the
professional and high quality care criteria.

CERTIFICATION STANDARDS

There are two levels of certification: Recreation Administrator and Recreation
Supervisor. In addition to meeting the certification standards listed below an applicant
must pass the corresponding examination to become certified as either a Recreation
Administrator or Recreation Supervisor. An individual can become certified as a
Recreation Administration or Recreation Supervisor by passing either the municipal
recreation or therapeutic recreation examination.

RECREATION ADMINISTRATOR — RA

Hold a baccalaureate degree in recreation from an accredited college and have a
minimum total of 12 months recreation experience, or

Hold a baccalaureate degree in a field related to recreation, such as group work,
sociology, or physical education from an accredited college and have a total of 24 months
recreation experience, or

Hold a baccalaureate degree from an accredited college and have a total of 36 months
recreation experience, or

Have 6 or more years’ administrative and supervisory recreation experience. In meeting
the above designated qualifications an applicant may substitute an additional year of
specialized graduate training in recreation for 1 year of recreation experience.



RECREATION SUPERVISOR — RS

Hold a baccalaureate degree in recreation from an accredited college and have a
minimum total of 9 months recreation experience, or

Hold a baccalaureate degree in a field related to recreation, such as group work,
sociology, or physical education from an accredited college and have a total of 21 months
recreation experience, or

Hold a baccalaureate degree from an accredited college and have a total of 30 months
recreation experience, or

Have 4 or more years recreation experience.

In meeting the above designated qualifications an applicant may substitute an additional
year of specialized graduate training in recreation for 1 year of recreation experience.

EEES

Application Fee $5.00
5 Year Renewal Fee $10.00 ($2.00/year)
Expired Renewal Fee ~ $5.00

APPLICATION AND REVIEW PROCESS

An application with appropriate documentation, official transcripts, and application fee
($5.) must be submitted to the Secretary of the New Jersey Board of Recreation
Examiners. The application will be reviewed and you will be notified regarding your
eligibility to sit for either examination. The application fee is non-refundable regardless
of your eligibility to sit for the examination. Upon being eligible to sit for the
examination you will be notified of the date, time and location of the next examination.

RENEWAL OF CERTIFICATION

Every five years a $10.00 renewal fee must be submitted to the New Jersey Board of
Recreation Examiners. The renewal must include proof of 5. CEUs. Renewal notices will
be mailed six months prior to expiration. A 90 day grace period shall be allowed for
submitting documentation, but this grace period shall not be used by the applicant to
obtain credits.

APPLICATION AND INFORMATION

Jennifer Underwood (609) 292-5855

New Jersey Board of Recreation Examiners

New Jersey Department of Community Affairs

P.O. Box 811(101 South Broad Street, if overnight mail)
Trenton, NJ 08625-0811



